How to Disable Lion’s Resume Feature for Terminal

| MGG Answers

Question:

Joe writes: I finally upgraded to OS X Lion, but now when I launch the Terminal application the contents of my previous Terminal session as well as my Terminal command history are present in the window. Is there a way to stop this behavior so that each Terminal session starts fresh?

Answer:

The behavior you’re witnessing is caused by Lion’s “Resume” feature. While it can be helpful in many cases, some users have found it to be an annoyance, as you did with Terminal. Thankfully, “Resume” can be disabled on a per-application basis.

To restore Terminal to its previous behavior, enter this command: 

defaults write com.apple.Terminal NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

Now, you’ll need to quit and relaunch Terminal twice to make the change permanent. The reason being that you’re making the change from within the target application. So, issue the command, quit, relaunch, quit again, and then relaunch to see the results. 

For more information on Lion’s “Resume” and instructions on disabling the feature for other programs, or system-wide, see Melissa Holt’s TMO Quick Tip.

This question was originally answered on MGG 372: iTunes Match, Safari Fixes, Sending Files, & More

About MGG Answers:

Each week Dave Hamilton and John F. Braun provide some great troubleshooting advice to listeners of the Mac Geek Gab podcast. Here with MGG Answers we share some of those tips with the rest of the world!

Sign Up for the Newsletter

Join the TMO Express Daily Newsletter to get the latest Mac headlines in your e-mail every weekday.

No Comments

Log-in to comment