How to Remove Specific Items from a Time Machine Backup

| MGG Answers

Question:

David writes: I have been doing some work for a company and keeping their files on my Mac. The files were backed up with Time Machine along with everything else on my Mac. Now that the project is over, I’d like to delete the files, but don’t want them to be retained in my Time Machine backup. How can I delete just these specific files from Time Machine?

 

Answer:

Using Finder, go to the parent folder that contains the files or folder you want to delete. Then enter Time Machine by using the dock icon or the menu bar.

Delete Time Machine Backups

Use the Time Machine interface to selectively remove items from your backup.

Once the Time Machine interface has loaded, highlight the files or folder you want to delete from the backup and click the widget icon in the Finder’s toolbar. 

Choose “Delete All Backups…” and once you give permission they will be removed from your Time Machine Archive!

This question was originally answered on MGG 362: Backups, Processors, Migration & Syncing

About MGG Answers:

Each week Dave Hamilton and John F. Braun provide some great troubleshooting advice to listeners of the Mac Geek Gab podcast. Here with MGG Answers we share some of those tips with the rest of the world!

Sign Up for the Newsletter

Join the TMO Express Daily Newsletter to get the latest Mac headlines in your e-mail every weekday.

No Comments

Log-in to comment