Not every printer is networkable, meaning it can be added to your local network via Ethernet or AirPort. But printers that otherwise would live a life of solitude can still be shared on your network, and you can even specify which printers other users see.
If you have an inkjet or laser printer connected to your Mac via USB, you can share that printer with other users on your network. And if you have multiple printers connected to your Mac, you can share all of them. Your Mac must be turned on and awake for printer sharing to work, but it sure beats having to buy a printer for every computer in you home or office.
- Launch System Preferences. You can find it by choosing Apple menu > System Preferences.
- Select the Print & Fax Preference Pane.
- Click the Sharing tab.
- Check Share these printers with other computers.
- Now uncheck any printers you donit want to share.
Uncheck the printers you donit want to share.
Why selectively share some printers instead of all of them? Letis say you have an inkjet printer connected directly to your Mac via USB, and another printer on your local network, too. Sharing all of the printers your Mac uses will also share the networked printer, which means that everyone else on your network will see that printer twice - once as a network printer, and again as a shared printer from your Mac.
Unchecking your networked printers will save other users from the potential confusion of seeing multiple versions of the same printer.
You may also have one inkjet printer connected to your Mac for specific print jobs, like labels or post cards, and another for general use. Unchecking the special-use printer prevents other users from accidentally printing a 20 page document on labels.<!--#include virtual="/includes/newsite/series/quicktip.shtml"-->