Diablo III Open Beta Weekend Starts Today

| Product News

Diablo III, the long-awaited and highly anticipated fantasy action role-playing game, will be available for all Mac and PC fans to test out during a free “open beta” weekend, starting today at 3 p.m. EDT (12 p.m. PDT), Blizzard, the game’s developer, announced late Thursday (via Cult of Mac). Interested gamers need only have a free Battle.net account, Blizzard’s online gaming service, to play.

Diablo III

To get started, create or log in to a Battle.net account and then create a BattleTag, Blizzard’s new feature for player profiles and communication. Next, download the game client for your platform (Mac or PC), run the installer, and then enjoy the game’s beta during the free weekend.

Diablo III Beta Installer

All five character classes will be available during the open beta and each can be developed up to level 13. Free access to the beta will end Monday, April 23, at 1 p.m. EDT (10 a.m. PDT).

Diablo III launches on Mac and PC Tuesday, May 15, nearly 12 years after its predecessor.

Sign Up for the Newsletter

Join the TMO Express Daily Newsletter to get the latest Mac headlines in your e-mail every weekday.

Comments

KitsuneStudios

Heh, alright, let’s see how badly this will fail on my old iMac. :D

Hopefully it’s at least barely playable at lowest settings; There’s almost certainly going to be a gap between when I get my Collector’s Edition, and when Apple ships me an Ivy Bridge iMac.

KitsuneStudios

Yep, complete fail. Won’t even run if it detects an unsupported video card.

7upyourz

I found a way around that.  When the unsupported video card error pops up, hit Esc and that should bypass it.

Log-in to comment