Mac OS X: Seeing if You Have Unsaved Changes

| TMO Quick Tip

OS X has some built-in ways to tell at a glance if the document you’re working on has unsaved changes, which is pretty helpful if you’re like me and constantly get distra—ooooo, look, Duke Nukem Forever is out! No? Aw, sad panda.

Anyway, if you look at the window’s Close, Minimize, and Zoom buttons (the red, yellow, and green circles that appear in the top left) while you’re working on a document, you’ll note that the red Close button will have a dark dot inside it if you have unsaved changes. As soon as you hit Command-S or choose File > Save, though, the dot goes away, and you’re back to the more familiar appearance of your buttons. This works in lots of places, including Mail, TextEdit, all three iWork applications, and some third-party programs like TextWrangler and PDFpen.

Here’s how the Close button looks with no unsaved changes (top) and when you need to SAVE, SAVE RIGHT NOW (bottom).

 

Another cue about whether you’ve made changes is the document icon that appears next to the name of your file in some programs. If that icon is grayed out, you need to save before you walk away from your machine or, say, start doing Internet searches for vaporware.

And here’s how the document icon changes to give you another visual reminder to save.

Why should you worry about saving your documents, you ask? Because apps crash, and losing your hard work really cuts into Overkill time.

Sign Up for the Newsletter

Join the TMO Express Daily Newsletter to get the latest Mac headlines in your e-mail every weekday.

Comments

mhikl

So darn simple and obvious, well, after it has been pointed out. Can’t believe I have never noticed this before. Thanks for the tip, Melissa. Must work on being more mindful.

The easily overlooked right-side toolbar toggle on some screens is not as intuitive as the left-side coloured bubbles but is also useful when practised a few times.

computerbandgeek

This is even more important to notice in the bigger feline that’s just around the corner, since you can quit apps with unsaved changes, and the document will still be there when you launch the app again, even if you didn’t save the document before quitting. I think this will end up confusing a lot of people.

xmattingly

This is even more important to notice in the bigger feline that?s just around the corner, since you can quit apps with unsaved changes, and the document will still be there when you launch the app again, even if you didn?t save the document before quitting

I think that will be dependent on whether or not a particular software developer will have that function built into their software’s API. So for example… I wouldn’t expect any of Adobe’s Creative Suite products to support this function for another several months.

There are a lot of iPad knockoff features in 10.7 that make me go, “meh”. But I think auto save, file version history and “app resume” are going to be revolutionary.

Log-in to comment