Mac: A Personal Computer, but NOT a PC…

• Posted: 08 July 2001 09:19 PM

I have a friend who refers to my iMac as my “PC”.  Macs are perhaps the most personal of all computers, yet they are a far cry from PCs.  Reinstalling drivers for your “A” drive?  Safe Mode?  These are not the signs of a real personal computer.  PC should refer to Macs, and Wintel computers should go by something else.  How about iPC, for impersonal computer?  Who’s with me!? 

Posted: 27 June 2001 06:18 PM #1

Ha!  Preach on, Brother David!

Tell us the rest of this story. I’ve caught pieces of it outside the forums, and I think you should share it.  It’s pretty funny.

Signature

Editor - The Mac Observer

Favorite (but less relevant than it used to be) Quote: Microsoft’s tyranny lies not in its success, but in the way it achieved and maintains that success.

• Posted: 27 June 2001 08:46 PM #2

I’m really not that offended with Macs referred to as PC’s, but I’m new to the Mac world.  To me, a PC is just that - a personal computer….now a P4, that’s different.

But, I would love to hear the rest of the story…

Signature

Lather, Rinse, Repeat.

• Posted: 27 June 2001 09:34 PM #3

I hate the name “PC” but what I hate more is when PC users call a Mac a MAC Damn you all, MAC is not a dumb acronym for something that some uncreative person thought up.  Plus PC makes me think of “Politically Correct” which makes me hurl.  Windows Media Player.  Quicktime.  Office.  Appleworks.  Hi my name is Microsoft, and I read “dictionary for idiots”.  Hmm what should I call our new product?  Well what does it do?  DUH.

Sorry, this isn’t the rant room, is it?

Signature

Signatures are for geeks…. I’m a geek.

• Posted: 27 June 2001 10:54 PM #4

But Macs are personal computer and I think they are the most personal of computers.

Signature

Windows sucks.

• Posted: 28 June 2001 10:12 AM #5

On 2001-06-28 01:54, Alfonzo wrote:
    But Macs are personal computer and I think they are the most personal of computers.