iBook or TiBook?

• Posted: 10 July 2001 04:24 PM

Since we already have some great discussion going on in another thread about desktops vs. portables, I have to ask the ultimate question on the portable side: iBook or TiBook?

Please explain why you would get one or the other.  This, from experience, is always a helpful thread when people are debating between two choices.

Personally, I would buy a TiBook, but not one of the current models.  From what Extell pointed out over at BareFeats, the FireWire performance would be a serious problem for me.  I will be waiting for the next revision and hopefully then the problems with the original will be worked out.

Now on to why I chose the TiBook.  I am a digital media designer by hobby and am currently studying such areas in school.  The majority of my time is spent in Photoshop, Final Cut Pro, 3-D Animation programs, Flash, Director/Fireworks, Dreamweaver, and LiveStage Professional.  Such programs require a bundle of screen real-estate, and only the TiBook offers that extra wide 1600X1200 (correct me if the numbers are wrong) screen.  In addition to this, many of these programs are currently optimized for the G4 processor or will be in the near future.  This is very important in order to remain productive.  And I guess I like the looks of the TiBook better than the iBook. 

Brad

Signature

Brad Smith
    The Mac Observer

• Posted: 03 July 2001 03:09 PM #1

I read a great review of the iBook vs the Titanium on:
    http://www.barefeats.com

Looks to me like the iBook is not that bad comparativly (sp?)

Signature

Growing old is mandatory;
    Growing up is optional.

• Posted: 03 July 2001 03:30 PM #2

A topic that is right up my alley.

I finally decided this week that I am going to put aside the sensible part of me and buy the tibook. Can I afford it? Of course not. Do I want it? Of course.

But I, unlike Brad, am going to buy it before the next revision, and I have reasons to back up my statement.