MS Frontpage XP

• Posted: 28 March 2002 08:43 PM

I’m new to Macs, just got a Tibook. I need to know if it is possible to somehow run MS Frontpage XP (2002 or whatever they call it) on OSX???? Anybody have any ideas or otherwise good and AFFORDABLE alternatives???

• Posted: 23 February 2002 05:59 AM #1

Oh my…  FrontPage, huh?

Well, the short answer is no, there’s no FrontPage for the Mac and Macs don’t do Windows, so you wouldn’t be able to just up and buy it and run it.  However, you’ve got two options.

1. You can pick up a copy of Virtual PC , and that’ll run Windows XP, FrontPage 2002, and most any other Windows applications you’re after.  At $199 for Virtual PC with XP Home plus the $90/170 cost of FrontPage 2002, it’s not incredibly cheap, but if it’s important that you must use FP then the price might be worth it.  It’s fairly easy to set up, and a lot of Mac users enjoy the benefits (?) of having Windows right there with them.  Caveat: I don’t run Virtual PC myself, but I understand that some users have experienced better performance from VPC under OS 9 rather than X.

2. If FrontPage’s WYSIWYG features are what you’re after, you might find that a Mac-native editor would save you the effort - and some expense - of pootling about with Windows on a Mac.  We’ve discussed some of this stuff in this thread (which was initially about hand coding, but gets a little tangential).  Many shareware/commercial Web development applications for the Mac have comparable and often better implementations of FrontPage’s features, and often it’s a lot cheaper.

Signature

Evil® takes many forms. Please submit them promptly, in triplicate.

• Posted: 23 February 2002 10:53 AM #2

Actually, FWIW, there was a FrontPage for Mac but it’s no longer developed and is not for OS X.

• Posted: 23 February 2002 08:23 PM #3

And do we miss it? HELL NO.

Signature

• Posted: 24 February 2002 02:39 AM #4