Free HTML editors

• Posted: 15 February 2006 03:17 PM

I want to try to set up my own web page, and thought I’d try one of the freeware HTML editors, but which one?

I have used Dreamweaver at work to update a site that had been professionally developed, but all I had to do was cut, paste and amend existing code, using the code view in DW, which wasn’t too difficult.  So I have some understanding of HTML.  But I am a novice at developing from scratch.

A review of info on the web suggests to me that the 3 best options may be Amaya, Nvu and Taco.  Any advice please on which I should try?

Thanks.

[ Edited: 04 May 2009 10:46 AM by Intruder ]

Signature

"Between the idea and the reality .... falls the shadow." T S Eliot (how to be happy?)  inner and outer space

Posted: 15 February 2006 04:25 PM #1

Hi, ercatli, and welcome.

I don’t know about the outside two. But I use Nvu a lot and it works fine for me. It’s not absolutely 100% stable, but that’s more to do with one of the websites I’m maintaining, which is a bit dodgy in itself.

I’ve been using it for over a year now, and I can’t find any reason for my purposes to use anything else.

Signature

Laurie Fleming - the singing geek

@LaurieFleming

Posted: 15 February 2006 06:56 PM #2

+

Ercatli,

I found your post interesting, because you said you’ve cut/pasted/amended code in DW, but are a novice developing a site from scratch. That leads me to ask: Are you looking for a free HTML code editor, or a fee HTML WYSIWYG editor?

HTML code editors are for editing code and just code. No GUI, but rather more like you vs. the command line. From the commercial BBEdit to TextEdit (OS X) and NotePad (Windows), these tools require you to have pretty much expert skills in “hand-coding,” i.e. making a website more like a programmer, rather than a designer, because you’re using code as opposed to visual design tools.