What was your first computer?

• Posted: 15 June 2001 09:28 AM #31

in 1984 my dad bought a mac se30. i was about 3 1/2 years old and i started learning how to use it. i’ve kept using new macs that he bought and a few years ago i bought my own starmax (motorola mac clone, remember?). i still use it today (with g3 upgrade) but lust after the g4’s and new ibook. hey, i’m a poor college student!!!

it has all payed off being a mac addict because i have a graphic design job and use macs there all day. life can’t get much better…...

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted: 15 June 2001 09:32 AM #32

Hey, I have a StarMax 6000, their CHRP prototype.  Very interesting machine.

Oops, did I say that out loud?

Signature

Editor - The Mac Observer

Favorite (but less relevant than it used to be) Quote: Microsoft’s tyranny lies not in its success, but in the way it achieved and maintains that success.

• Posted: 15 June 2001 10:14 AM #33

I used to drool over my friends Apple ][e until I got one of my own, my first computer.  I was in 3rd grade at the time when I first became interested (that was, I think, 1985).  I used to correct spelling tests for my 4th grade teacher just so I could stay after school and play Word Munchers.  Then I got my parents to buy me my own computer ($500 Apple ][e) and I beat Legacy of the Ancients before moving on to Might & Magic 2, which was a hard hard game to beat, and I never did.

I programmed my first program that year, it was a D&D character generator using Apple ][e Basic (real name? I dunno).  I skewed the dice rolls so horribly that I made unbelievable characters to play with (hehe, the power of the programmer).