Comparing Photoshop and Painter

Posted: 16 August 2007 08:47 AM

I just downloaded a trial copy of Corel Painter X. I’ve never used it before. I’ve spent a lot of time in the last couple years getting my feet wet in Photoshop. Photoshop is amazingly comprehensive and powerful, but I’m not finding it as easy as I had hoped emulating traditional natural media look-and-feel. I’ve gotten it to do what I want, for the most part, but only after a lot of trial and error combining countless brushes, filters and layer styles. And unless I’m missing something, setting up and using custom brushes, styles and effects is not as straightforward as it ought to be.

As I’m trying out Painter, I’m wondering if any of you are familiar enough with both Painter and Photoshop to help me with a comparison. That may help me focus on testing out the differences by not having to weed them from the similarities by trial and error.

If I were to decide to use Painter either along with or instead of Photoshop, I would need to compile a list of reasons by boss should spend the money. It won’t be a huge deal, but he’s not going to buy it for me just because I ask.

Thanks in advance.

I should probably give a brief description of what I’m typically trying to do. I’m an architect. The workflow of a typical building design would start with hand sketches to quickly test many different ideas. 3D modeling in SketchUp is also used. As a design scheme starts to find its direction, it will move to 2D CAD to work out the floor plans. But CAD drawings aren’t the best media to present design ideas to clients - they’re too stiff and give the client the impression that the design has already been set in stone.