Institutional ownership of AAPL inches up

• Posted: 08 February 2009 08:07 AM

Pardon me if these are a dumb questions, but I’m new at this.

According to MSN Money, institutional ownership of AAPL stood at 67.02% as of Feb. 6. A snapshot taken two weeks earlier, on Jan. 23, showed it at 66.46%. That’s a small (0.8%) but measurably increase.

Over the same two weeks, Apple shares rose nearly 13%.

You guys are veteran Apple watchers. Is this cause and effect? Is buying by the institutional investors what’s driving up the stock?

Second dumb question: is there a site that tracks changes in the level of institutional ownership over time, so I don’t have to rely on a couple of random screen grabs?

• Posted: 08 February 2009 08:10 AM #1

Philiped…there are NO dumb questions!

• Posted: 08 February 2009 09:03 AM #2

philiped - 08 February 2009 12:07 PM

According to MSN Money, institutional ownership of AAPL stood at 67.02% as of Feb. 6. A snapshot taken two weeks earlier, on Jan. 23, showed it at 66.46%. That’s a small (0.8%) but measurably increase.

You guys are veteran Apple watchers. Is this cause and effect? Is buying by the institutional investors what’s driving up the stock?

Second dumb question: is there a site that tracks changes in the level of institutional ownership over time, so I don’t have to rely on a couple of random screen grabs?

Re: first question cannot say but a good sign for sure. It would be interesting to know the percentage of Inst trade went into the market at the same time…
    as to the second ?  yes the NASDAQ site has that info.. sorry I have not got the link. btw your work is excellent, thanks

Posted: 08 February 2009 11:09 AM #3

It might be something different.  Individual ownership is on the decline.

Posted: 08 February 2009 11:37 AM #4