I Need A MacBook!

• Posted: 30 April 2009 11:01 PM #16

It is most definitely worth the extra couple of hundred bucks to get the aluminum-cased macbook if you want to use the machine for more than a couple of years.

I am a student, and I bought myself a nice white 2.2GHz C2D. It is plenty fast for everything, including Final Cut Studio and Logic Studio, as long as you don’t expect to do anything in real time. It can drive gigantic external displays if that is an issue for you.

Unfortunately after using this for a while I have gotten the feeling that these machines simply aren’t built to last. There is a known issue with the plastic chipping off of the keyboard cover (which mine has) and hairline cracks in the casing (which mine has). It also doesn’t have very much strength if any torque is accidentally applied to the machine. This is why I recommend the much more solidly built Aluminum Macbooks, which have an impressive amount of computing power and are built to last for a fraction more money.

Signature

Your Average 18-year-old Mac Geek,
    -alex

Posted: 01 May 2009 01:50 AM #17

I would recommend scouting around for deals on eBay. I’ve bought my last three Macs from there (over about an 11 year spread) and have been completely happy with all purchases… two brand new and one slightly used but basically mint. My last purchase was for a MBP brand new in its package, and $300 below retail price. Could be that it “fell off the back of a truck”... who can say for sure. What I can tell you is that I still have a few months on warranty.

• Posted: 02 May 2009 02:48 AM #18

My decision was between:

Refurbished MacBook 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - Aluminum
    13.3-inch 1280-by-800 pixel LED-backlit display
    2GB memory
    160GB hard drive
    8x SuperDrive (DVD?R DL/DVD?RW/CD-RW)
    Built-in iSight camera
    Standard keyboard
    $1099

and:

Refurbished MacBook 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - Aluminum
    13.3-inch 1200-by-800 pixel LED-backlit display
    2GB memory