Beginning programming for children?

• Posted: 09 June 2009 10:42 PM

My son (9 years old) has expressed some interest in learning how to program. While I have some programming experience, it’s quite dated (as in I started with Pascal on a Apple II+) and the closest I’ve come to programming in the last decade is Excel Macros or simple Applescripts.

Any suggestions on age appropriate ways to get him started?

Thanks

[ Edited: 18 November 2010 10:10 AM by Intruder ]      

Posted: 21 June 2009 10:15 PM #1

Pappy - 10 June 2009 01:42 AM

My son (9 years old) has expressed some interest in learning how to program. While I have some programming experience, it’s quite dated (as in I started with Pascal on a Apple II+) and the closest I’ve come to programming in the last decade is Excel Macros or simple Applescripts.

Any suggestions on age appropriate ways to get him started?

Thanks

I working through a similar issue but my son is 12.  He want’s to do game development and is more oriented to character development then pure programming.  I have sent him to camp for 2-D and 3-D game development. This year we are working from home using two tools so far.  Unity 3D game development engine and Blender for 3D model development.  Unity cost $200 but has a 30 day trial. Blender is a 3D modeling program and is open source so I would start there.  So far this summer I would say my son is a bit overwhelmed with some of the tutorials but he thinks it’s cool.  Both programs tend to be overwhelming at the start, but with patience in showing them how to work through a tutorial they will progress quite far.

I tried to get them interested about developing for the iphone, but kids seem really attracted to the gaming.

Posted: 07 July 2009 10:01 AM #2