Ford 2009 = Apple 1999?

• Posted: 05 November 2009 01:57 PM

I hope this isn’t considered off topic.

I have been investing in Apple since 1999.  Back then, my Apple fanboyism led me to recognize that Jobs’ turn around of Apple was going to work.  That insight has made me a nice bit of change.  Ever since then, I have been looking for companies in similar circumstances; a beat down company that still had a good brand, loyal fans and were making the changes necessary to turn things around.

For a while now, I have been looking at Ford.  I like the changes in their product line and I think they are capable of build excitement among car buyers.  I know the comparison isn’t perfect.  Ford has enormous debt and Apple in 1999 didn’t have much debt, something like 200-400 million to 4 billion in cash.

I am just curious.  Have any of you long time Apple investors been thinking the same thing? 

Given how cheap F is right now, I am tempted to make a speculative, high-risk investment.

Posted: 05 November 2009 02:10 PM #1

CrazyHarry - 05 November 2009 05:57 PM

I hope this isn’t considered off topic.

I have been investing in Apple since 1999.  Back then, my Apple fanboyism led me to recognize that Jobs’ turn around of Apple was going to work.  That insight has made me a nice bit of change.  Ever since then, I have been looking for companies in similar circumstances; a beat down company that still had a good brand, loyal fans and were making the changes necessary to turn things around.

For a while now, I have been looking at Ford.  I like the changes in their product line and I think they are capable of build excitement among car buyers.  I know the comparison isn’t perfect.  Ford has enormous debt and Apple in 1999 didn’t have much debt, something like 200-400 million to 4 billion in cash.

I am just curious.  Have any of you long time Apple investors been thinking the same thing? 

Given how cheap F is right now, I am tempted to make a speculative, high-risk investment.