Passwords, Passwords and More Passwords

Poll: How Do You Manage Account Passwords?
Total Votes: 33
I avoid passwords whenever possible.
One password for every account.
A handfull of passwords for all of my accounts.
Different passwords for every account.

Posted: 07 July 2010 11:20 AM

Everyone seems to have a different philosophy on account passwords. What’s yours?

Posted: 07 July 2010 11:48 AM #1

It’s evolved over time. The issue is that passwords that are good are impossible to remember. Passwords that are easy to remember are not very good. Plus I’m a sysadmin so I generate aLOT of passwords each week.

Years ago I used extinct animals and plants. Struthiomomus. Marella Splendins, Cooksonia, and such.
    Then I added number substitutions Dr3pan0phycus.

After a while though I decided that these were all known words so I made a “Random Password Generator” consisting of a box full of keys off of six keyboards. Stir the box and then grab a handful. This was cumbersome though and I had to write them down. They also tended to not be very long.

Then dropped that in favour of keyboard patterns. These have the advantage of being complex and easy to remember because you don’t remember the password, you remember the pattern. 1q@W3e$R5t^Y7u*I, or zaq1@#$rfv for example. However I realized that there was a limit to the number of patterns I was using so the passwords tended to be similar.

Currently I use the Give Me A Password desktop widget to generate very complex passwords: Xwsvm_hREB7g6L, 6F34T$Re#@LL!t, or nPw4*F&Y3FAZjP; for example. These are true random and quite complex. The problem is that there’s no way I can remember them. I write them down, and keep them away from my computer.

As far as how many. I have one password for my low risk passwords. If someone logs into my CBC account and posts with my screen name I don’t really care. However, high risk accounts, bank, BCHydro, Credit Card, Computers, my WAP etc.  have unique random passwords.