Is anybody else using the iPhone less?

• Posted: 02 August 2010 09:34 PM

Now that I have been using both my iPad and iPhone for several months, I find myself using the iPhone much less than I used to before. I haven’t bought an iPhone app since I bought my iPad. I now use my iPhone for the basics: quickly checking weather and stocks, texting, calls and part of my email. 

I almost exclusively use my iPad for games, reading books and magazines, and reading news, etc, and I use it most of the time for maps, email and general browsing.

I also find that I rarely use the 3G option on my iPad. Wifi is present in most situations.

To the extent that others are doing the same, then the iPad is much more important long term to the Apple ecosystem than the iPhone.  And all the attention on Android cellphones and the telcom carriers is overhyped. 

Yes, there will be more phones than tablets for years to come, but if most people are buying apps for their tablets, than the platform wars will be won by who sells more tablets.

Posted: 02 August 2010 09:48 PM #1

I still have a first gen iPhone, which like you, only gets used for the basics now that I have an iPad. I’ll probably still get a 4g in the next few months because I cracked the screen on my old iPhone. I also think I can go to the lower data plan.

The iPad (and my MacBook Pro) are used constantly.

Signature

I’ve never owned a windows PC. Never will.

High tech Meditation Music

• Posted: 02 August 2010 09:52 PM #2

macorange - 03 August 2010 12:34 AM

Now that I have been using both my iPad and iPhone for several months, I find myself using the iPhone much less than I used to before. I haven’t bought an iPhone app since I bought my iPad. I now use my iPhone for the basics: quickly checking weather and stocks, texting, calls and part of my email. 

I almost exclusively use my iPad for games, reading books and magazines, and reading news, etc, and I use it most of the time for maps, email and general browsing.