Ode to the iPad

• Posted: 16 November 2010 07:15 PM

Disclaimer - I don’t work or have any financial interests in the companies mentioned below.

I know that today, there is some disappointment regarding the Beatles announcement.  People expected more, but c’est la vie.  I know I am preaching to the choir, but as an “old timer” on the iPad, I just have to come on here and say my piece about how impactful this product is.

My background is that I am CEO of a tech startup.  Computing is at the core of what I and my company do. If I wanted to, I could spend every waking hour at work, and still not get everything done that I should.

I think the vast majority of tech commentators missed the mark on the iPad when it was announced.  There was curiosity and interest, but I don’t think anyone fully appreciated the power of this form factor, the surrounding app universe, instant-on, etc.  This is a product that must be experienced to be understood.  And I don’t mean playing with it for a few hours, I mean USING it for months on end.

Here is an example of what I mean.  We have a potential new customer for our technology.  We need to completely understand a prospect’s business model and challenge as part of the customer discovery process.  So last night (very late) I had time to spend on this opportunity.  So I was laying in bed doing the following.