Forgot my password for my file.

• Posted: 23 November 2010 10:54 PM

I’m not going to tell you I’m a newbie. I think that will be painfully obvious.  rolleyes
    I use my laptop a lot to scan and store old family photos and stories for a genealogy project that I am working on with another family member. Therefore, I take it with me to various family members as I’m collecting these pictures and info. I like for the family to see what we have so far, so I don’t have a password on my computer. However, I also have my own work on here. I used the disk utility and made a password protected file to keep some stuff in. It works great. I’ve opened it several times. The only problem is, I don’t use it often and I have forgotten the password. I’m fairly certain I’m entering it correctly now. Are you locked out after so many tries? If I can’t remember the password, how do I reset it or retrieve my work?
    And yes, you have permission to laugh at me, everyone else does. smile

Posted: 23 November 2010 11:56 PM #1

As far as I am aware, there is no limit to the number of tries on encrypted disks created by disk utility. Regarding password recovery, there is no tool that I know of.

Signature

Mac switchers see my profile for switching help…

• Posted: 24 November 2010 02:32 PM #2

Over here in Ireland we had some bankers with a similar problem, namely password locked files that outlined all their bad behaviour.  We found that a sledgehammer was useful in helping them remember fairly quickly.

Signature

Dogma is Mans best friend

• Posted: 24 November 2010 04:13 PM #3

If you are describing a password protected DMG file, I know of no way to break in short of telling the CIA-NSA that the file contains the location of Ossama bin Laden and rely on their supercomputers to crack in. Of course that could lead to jail.