I have a question ...

• Posted: 26 January 2011 06:37 PM

I purchased Jan 2012 $305 Calls a couple of days ago, and even though AAPL went up the last couple of days, the call didn’t move. I’m new at buying options and I’m kind of disappointed at this. Most strike prices under or over $305 went up except a few finishing in 05 (295, 285, ...). What’s up with these 05? Tks.

Posted: 26 January 2011 06:48 PM #1

Iceage - 26 January 2011 10:37 PM

I purchased Jan 2012 $305 Calls a couple of days ago, and even though AAPL went up the last couple of days, the call didn’t move. I’m new at buying options and I’m kind of disappointed at this. Most strike prices under or over $305 went up except a few finishing in 05 (295, 285, ...). What’s up with these 05? Tks.

I’m guessing you’re looking at the last trade instead of the bid. It’s a low volume, low open interest option and the last trade was two days ago at $60. But the bid is $65.40, so it has gone up.

Signature

The only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. — Steve Jobs

Posted: 26 January 2011 06:54 PM #2

The bid/ask is one thing, as Apple II+ pointed out.

Also, the VIX went down quite a bit recently.  That affects IV, which has a significant downward effect on option premiums.

Signature

The Summer of AAPL is here.  Enjoy it (responsibly) while it lasts.
    AFB Night Owl Team™
    Thanks, Steve.

• Posted: 26 January 2011 07:11 PM #3

When the stock was up $3.50 today my option was up app. 5%. When I checked back after the close the 5% gain was gone!

Posted: 26 January 2011 09:21 PM #4

Iceage - 26 January 2011 11:11 PM

When the stock was up $3.50 today my option was up app. 5%. When I checked back after the close the 5% gain was gone!