The End of the White MacBook?

• Posted: 26 April 2011 09:34 PM #16

Tetrachloride - 27 April 2011 12:28 AM

The strength of a cast aluminum laptop gives considerable piece of mind.

Also, for laptops, I recommend Applecare.

Never leave a laptop without it.

Signature

wab95

Posted: 26 April 2011 10:57 PM #17

wab95 - 27 April 2011 12:16 AM

I’ll probably spec his out to 4GB RAM and a 500 GB hard drive.

Many thanks for the feedback, geoduck.

You are very welcome.
    FWIW I added the memory and replaced the drive myself, saving a bunch of cash. However that’s kinda what I do for a living so…

[ Edited: 26 April 2011 10:59 PM by geoduck ]

Signature

Take Only Pictures, Leave Only Footprints
    Is No Way To Run An Art Gallery

• Posted: 26 April 2011 10:58 PM #18

DawnTreader - 26 April 2011 05:40 AM

Are we nearing the end of the white MacBook? Could this be the last education buying season in which it’s available?

Is there a need for it any longer in the product line with the drop in price on the MacBook Air and the positioning of the Apple iPad as a K-12 product solution?

What do you think?

I bought a Mac Book Air as a Christmas gift and gave it to my ex-wife (her iMac had died and she was looking to replace it with a portable).

Having played with it some, I find it to be a much better solution than my daughter’s MacBook.  It’s faster, starts instantly and feels lighter.  The weight issue is probably the lack of a traditional hard drive and optical drive.  For everything both do, the MacBook Air’s storage capacity is more than enough.

After playing with it I felt the MacBook was doomed, although sales of it may extend its life until the consumer feels more comfortable with its non-traditional technology.

Signature

You can’t do more, make more, be more, than the next guy, if you think like the next guy. Think different.

• Posted: 26 April 2011 11:26 PM #19

redge - 27 April 2011 02:08 AM
    Gregg Thurman - 27 April 2011 01:58 AM