Recommended broker for options

Posted: 05 May 2011 06:51 PM

I was just wondering what broker would you guys recommend?  Merrill Lynch has been good up to now, but I started looking at the stuff Thinkorswim has, and it looks really nice (one click call/put spreads, etc).  Is there anything else out there that is similar or better?

Thanks in advance.

• Posted: 05 May 2011 07:04 PM #1

Thinkorswim (now part of Ameritrade) has a great UI and tools - fees are ok, not great but uk.

Interactive Brokers has a java UI not for the faint of heart and VERY low fees. FYI that at IB you can’t buy options on margin, IB has very low margin interest rates so if you are holding stock, you can margin the stock for options—although margining AAPL options with AAPL stock is possible, things can get crazy very quickly on dramatic drops in stock price since you lose margin power on the stock, value on the stock AND value on call options.

Schwab just bought Options Express (which I have no experience with, but many others use).

Posted: 05 May 2011 09:59 PM #2

I have both Ameritrade and Fidelity and TD Ameritrade is by far my favorite.

Signature

Adversity does not just build character, it reveals it.

• Posted: 05 May 2011 10:42 PM #3

mbeauch - 06 May 2011 12:59 AM

I have switched several from many different brokers to OptionsXpress.  Their pages are clean, the site is easy to navigate, and order setups are a breeze.  They are always looking for customer suggestions to make their service better, and recently implemented a suggestion I made.  OX just merged with Charles Schwab.

Signature

You can’t do more, make more, be more, than the next guy, if you think like the next guy. Think different.

• Posted: 05 May 2011 10:53 PM #4

Gregg Thurman - 06 May 2011 01:42 AM