The Patent Game

• Posted: 22 June 2011 02:33 PM

I have mixed feelings about what is happening with the current patent litigation. (As many of you know, I am a recovering Attorney, but I have no experience in Patent law, which is considered a specialty.)

1) The Patent system is definitely broken. Unlike others who feel this way, I have no ready solutions at hand. Part of me things we should just chuck the whole system. It’s not working anyway, so take away the artificial barriers and let it be a technological race with the fastest being the winner.

On the other hand, saying that the patent system doesn’t work probably sounds ludicrous to the thousands upon thousands of companies that are bringing in millions upon millions of dollars in patent licensing revenue. Tossing out the patent system, or even trying to fix the patent system, may cause far more damage than good.

2) MAD: Mutually Assured Destruction. Not long ago, MAD was the Patent strategy that prevailed. The consensus thinking was that everybody had patents and that if you sued someone else they would just sue you back no matter who “won” everybody would end up losing due to years of court costs, uncertainty and eventual patent license fees.

3) Take No Prisoners. Apple seems to be taking a very aggressive stance on patents. They are suing a lot of people for a lot of things. On the one hand, it’s exciting to see them aggressively defending their patents. On the other hand, see MAD, above. They are poking a stick at every bear they see. One of them might just wake up and swat them hard.