Hello AFB!

Posted: 26 July 2011 03:12 PM #16

Hi everyone,

Looks like this thread is bringing a number of new people out. I’m also a longtime lurker. Never felt like I would be able to contribute much insight to the board.

Also have a background in physics (2 years) before getting a BSc in Electrical Engineering. At 40, I work as a full time software developer and part-time professional musician and recording studio operator.

Started investing in AAPL in 1997 and have accumulated and held right up until selling a small block last year. Thrilled that my holdings have just entered 7 figures, but after following this board for as long as I have, feel like I missed the boat by not having a better understanding of LEAPS and options. Still can’t complain too much can I smile

This board is a daily read for me. Very much enjoy all the knowledge and insight being passed around. Certainly helps to motivate me to learn more… one day when I have more time.

Cam

[ Edited: 26 July 2011 03:18 PM by cambrose ]

Signature

Long AAPL Short ME 5’3

• Posted: 26 July 2011 04:09 PM #17

cambrose - 26 July 2011 06:12 PM

Hi everyone,

Looks like this thread is bringing a number of new people out. I’m also a longtime lurker.

Welcome to you, Cam, and to all you lurkers out there. I think you’d all be surprised at how much your experience and your insights could add to this board. And paradoxically, there’s no better way to learn than to share what you know. Ask any teacher.

• Posted: 28 August 2011 08:41 PM #18

Thank you all for the warm welcome and your invaluable advice! I am also glad that other readers used this thread to introduce themselves.

As for the option trading, I do plan to start small. I will probably start around 10% of my portfolio in OTM LEAPS and see how it goes. I am aware of the risk involved in it, specially with the macro-situation going on these days.

Regarding some questions/remarks directed to me (sorry for the late response):

@sleepygeek