The Patent Wars

• Posted: 16 September 2011 11:51 PM

I am not a patent expert by any means, but it seems that the patent wars are heating up.  On the front burner, it seems to me, is the Oracle vs Google case.

Larry Ellison and Larry Page are due to face off, mano a mano, in a court ordered session, to negotiate a settlement.  Scheduled date is September 19, Magistrate Judge Grewal presiding.  That’ next Monday!  If no agreement is reached additional sessions will take place up to September 30.  If no settlement is reached then it probably will go to trial with a jury.  This is now scheduled for October but may be postponed due to other things on the calendar.

I have never met either Larry, but I have the feeling that Page is more of a hip shooter and Ellison is more of a planner.  In any case there will be supporting casts.

What is likely to happen?  Based on the ?evidence? to date, Oracle seems to have a pretty strong case for infringement of the Java patents.  Also hanging over Google?s head are some letters which strongly indicate that the infringement was willful.  My guess is that Ellison will want a fee for all android devices made in the past under license from Google, and all those going forward.  License fees seem to have been going in the five to twenty dollar a unit range.  Ellison will undoubtedly start at the high end but will settle for ten dollars a pop.  Assuming that 200,000,000 android phones have been sold, that?s two billion dollars.  If the infringement is willful, triple damages come into play.  Wow.  That?s six billion dollars, plus more license fees going forward.

Of course nothing is certain.  Google may wish to take their chances in front of a jury but the presiding judge (Alsup) has made it clear that he doesn?t believe that Google has a strong position.  The presiding judge has also made it clear that he wants them to settle.