lesson to independent analysts:  don’t believe your own press

Posted: 19 October 2011 04:54 AM #61

Me too!  I’m a professional photographer.  I wanted a decent camera, so I waited hoping for a new phone introduction in July when I could finally get rid of ATT and go Verizon. But, no new iPhone in July!  Incredible!

So, I kept the old phone.  The cracked screen had to be replaced because I couldn’t stand it anymore.  I bought a $20 kit from amazon and replaced both the screen and the digitizer.  It was a fairly easy replacement but, it subsequently made the screen extremely sensitive.  And, unfortunately, my camera died, so, no more photos from that iPhone (I could have replaced that easily too).

That iPhone gave me the last drop of its blood…..and I am thankful!

I had a friend who went Android too.  But, he also bought an iPad. 

Growl!!

• Posted: 19 October 2011 10:51 AM #62

Come to think of it, one can take another perspective. Apple has given a complete break down of its product line each quarter and its expenses. For the December quarter, it has given a revenue guidance, general margins, and earnings guidance. A linear regression model or even a Support Vector Machine, when fed these data will give out how many iPods, iPhones, Laptops, and iPads that Apple is expecting to sell. It gives a good foundation of Apple’s modeling, albeit conservative. To those figures, one can add a bit of a jitter as the quarter proceeds based on retail data, supply chain inputs, and the macro economics of the quarter.