Is MSFT fatally wounded by underestimating iOS?

• Posted: 19 February 2012 04:38 PM #16

dduck - 19 February 2012 08:26 PM

I use Pages and Numbers all the time. Love them. Then again, I’m not a professional spreadsheet jockey.

They will never be Word or Excel, but they are fine when considered on their own merits.

I find it much easier to migrate from Word to Pages than from Excel to Numbers.  I don’t use the latter, mainly because Excel is more capable.22

• Posted: 19 February 2012 05:48 PM #17

dduck - 19 February 2012 08:26 PM

I use Pages and Numbers all the time. Love them. Then again, I’m not a professional spreadsheet jockey.

They will never be Word or Excel, but they are fine when considered on their own merits.

They work fine for me too. They’re more like the old Microsoft Works than Office.

Posted: 19 February 2012 07:35 PM #18

So Mercel, what do you use for all your pictorial charts? 

Since AAPL had been treating me well these days, I figure I should be a good shareholder, buy iWork on the Mac App Store and see what it’s all about for myself.

[ Edited: 19 February 2012 07:38 PM by Mav ]

Signature

The Summer of AAPL is here.  Enjoy it (responsibly) while it lasts.
    AFB Night Owl Team™
    Thanks, Steve.

• Posted: 20 February 2012 12:48 AM #19

Mav - 19 February 2012 11:35 PM

So Mercel, what do you use for all your pictorial charts? 

Since AAPL had been treating me well these days, I figure I should be a good shareholder, buy iWork on the Mac App Store and see what it’s all about for myself.

Exce1 2011 for Mac.  It’s far better than 2008.

Posted: 20 February 2012 01:35 AM #20

As it so happens I got Office 11 for almost nothing due to some Amazon Black Friday promo.  Just need Quicken to update and I can jump to Lion.

Signature

The Summer of AAPL is here.  Enjoy it (responsibly) while it lasts.
    AFB Night Owl Team™
    Thanks, Steve.

• Posted: 20 February 2012 11:37 AM #21