Posted: 24 March 2012 07:04 PM

By request, for anyone who is interested… smile

[ Edited: 24 March 2012 10:28 PM by lovemyipad ]      
  • Posted: 24 March 2012 08:31 PM #1

38 million iPhones

• Posted: 24 March 2012 08:41 PM #2

roni - 24 March 2012 11:31 PM

38 million iPhones

God I hope so.  I have to admit I never thought they’d sell more than last quarter this quarter, but lots of people seem to expect it.  I’m no expert -  I was totally surprised by the amount of iPhones sold by AT&T and VZW respectively last quarter.  As in, when I saw their individual numbers I didn’t see how aapl could sell what was expected.

Does anyone have any detail on how people like Dawn Treader and Horace arrive at their estimates for iPhone sales?

I got burnt along with countless others when I listened to some of the estimates being thrown around last October.  So I’m still pretty cautious.

• Posted: 24 March 2012 08:54 PM #3

StillLong - 24 March 2012 11:41 PM
    roni - 24 March 2012 11:31 PM

38 million iPhones

God I hope so.  I have to admit I never thought they’d sell more than last quarter this quarter, but lots of people seem to expect it.  I’m no expert -  I was totally surprised by the amount of iPhones sold by AT&T and VZW respectively last quarter.  As in, when I saw their individual numbers I didn’t see how aapl could sell what was expected.

Does anyone have any detail on how people like Dawn Treader and Horace arrive at their estimates for iPhone sales?

I got burnt along with countless others when I listened to some of the estimates being thrown around last October.  So I’m still pretty cautious.

I arrived at mine thusly:

The past two years there have been sequential iPhone increases from FQ1 to FQ2.  FQ1 this year was 14 weeks.  I figured a 10% increase and adjust it for a 13 week quarter.  Then I rounded up to the nearest million smile

[ Edited: 24 March 2012 09:21 PM by roni ]      

Posted: 24 March 2012 09:24 PM #4