Forum

[Solved] I don’t know what specs I need to run photoshop and astropad. Have pity on a newbie.  

RSS

Alright, I’m not a newbie at a lot of things, but when it comes to Mac computers, I know NOTHING. I’ve always been a pc girl, but I’m also an artist and with the AMAZING art tools that iPad Pro has been offering lately, my 2000 dollar Wacom cintiq collects dust in my studio (I hate to admit that Apple totally blew Wacom out of the water with parallax and palm rejection, blah blah artist crap no one cares about.) The catch is that I need photoshop, and have been using workarounds that are cumbersome and what not since the first iPad Pro to move initial sketches into my pc photoshop. With the release of the new Mac mini, I’m seriously considering having a second computer to use astropad. In the pc world, the specs for the entry level Mac mini feel really light to do much with. Really, I just need to run adobe programs ...is the entry level Mac mini gonna cut it? I don’t want to go any higher than that since that will LITERALLY be it’s only job.

TL;DR I’m an artist new to Mac and need to know if the entry level Mac mini just released will suit my needs for photoshop and astropad paired with my new iPad Pro (preferably wirelessly. I’m a couch potato when I do art)

Hello Josh

Welcome to the world of Mac! I think you will love the platform especially as an artist.

I would start by comparing two documents, the first is Adobe's System Requirements for Adobe Photoshop CC (see the MacOS section which comes just after Windows) and Apple's Mac mini (2018) - Technical Specifications page. According to the two specs, Photoshop CC will be more than happy running inside a Mac mini.