Forum

New iPad Pro or refurb MacBook Pro? Help me decide.  

RSS

MMuto
(@mmuto)
November 5, 2018 9:29 EST AM  

My 2008 MacBook Pro still works. But I can't update it enough to run the software I need. 

I've been kicking around replacing the old laptop with a new iPad Pro as a second machine, something to take to coffee shops and write or edit. I like the idea of the pencil for notetaking, which I do a lot of. I'm a fiction writer, a content editor, and every so often I'll do a freelance tech writing assignment.

iPad Pro Pros: So lightweight! Ability to jot down notes. One less device to replace and manage, so the possibility of time and cash saver in the long haul? The free version of Word works well. No buying a second license!

iPad Cons: It's expensive once I include a connected keyboard (TextExpander plays nicer, among other apps), and the No. 2 Pencil (HA!). Yes, yes, I know. That's not what Apple calls it. Total price $1327.

Refurb 13-inch MacBook Pro Pros: More fully-fleshed out apps (Scrivener is just one), Hazel, Keyboard Maestro, OmniFocus. Cheaper overall than the iPad Pro. Total cost for a 13-inch retina display refurb with 8GB and a 256 SSD $1269. 

Refurb 13-inch MacBook Pro Cons: I'd have to cough up money to buy a second license of Word or subscribe to 365. It's heavier. It's another device to replace and maintain. It's already a year and change behind the update curve. There are two iPads in the family: I got a mini in Jan 2016, and there's a slightly older iPad Air 2. I could trade in the older iPad Air ($120 trade-in value).

I'd love to hear your thoughts. Which would you choose and why? Many thanks in advance.

This topic was modified 1 week  ago 2 times by MMuto

ReplyQuote
Alex Santos
(@alex-santos)
November 5, 2018 10:25 EST AM  

My two cents, the MacBook pro. I think it is still a more flexible device than an iPad but I think others should weigh in.

MMuto liked
ReplyQuote
Dave Hamilton
(@davehamilton)
Admin