Forum

TP-Link Deco Mesh Wi-Fi security flaw?  

RSS

DoItForMe.Solutions
(@doitforme-solutions)
April 14, 2019 12:30 EDT AM  

I'll admit geeking out on this one.  Couldn't resist a sale at Amazon to pick up two of the TP-Link Deco M5 units (2-radio version) for only $99 to try out.

Seen Dave's write-up that says they are pretty good, especially for the price.

I've been using Eero Pro's for several years are my "go to" solution for entry-level mesh, but looking to consider alternatives, so...

Installed really nicely, I might even prefer the login methods and app to Eero (the Eero login/account management is a bit too heavy-handed sometimes).

I have one unit hardwired to my existing LAN as a router (double NAT) and the second unit connected as a wireless mesh add-on/mesh point.

But I noticed something weird - the TP-Link seems to be generating a hidden network.  I.E. a network that does not broadcast its SSID.  I assume it might be used for the backhaul between units (nothing wrong with that and I think most mesh Wi-Fi systems do that), but it is shown as being open without any encryption - no WPA2 as I would expect.

Now if it is used by TP-Link, one might assume they run their own encrypted session on top of the open Wi-Fi transport, but that seems really poor design.  Not a security expert, but an open Wi-Fi link means no encryption so sniffing the traffic and possibly creating a man-in-the-middle attack would be a lot easier.

Am I just paranoid or maybe something else is the source of the hidden network?  I can't trace the BSSID definitively, but it disappears when I unplug the TP-Link and re-appears when I bring it back online.

Note: I found the hidden network because my production Wi-Fi is Ubiquiti Unifi and showing "nearby AP's" is one of the build-in handy features in the controller web interface display screens.