Data Security Features From IOS 13

Over the years, Apple has been in the spotlight for its efforts in advocating for privacy. The company has detailed its privacy practices on its website and has also posted privacy ads on billboards.

Recently, Apple added iOS 13, the latest mobile software for iPhones. It now comes preinstalled in iPhone 11 Pro and iPhone 11. It also has free updates for newer models and iPhone 6S.

What Are The New Features?

For tech buyers, privacy and security are a key concern. The new software can automatically help users to sign in to apps through creating a burner email address. It has a call silencing feature that bans robocalls.

iOS 13 also comes to you with new buttons that minimize the sharing of your location data. At an age where digital privacy has hit the headlines, this software is crucial. Here are some of the features you need to know:

Sign In With A Burner Email Address

The most important privacy tool in this software is a button that allows you to sign in to sites and apps using Apple ID. Signing in to Apple is different from Google and Facebook. If you have used Facebook and Google before, then you know that you can log in to different apps and sites using your Facebook and Google accounts.

Sign in with Apple is different. It is privacy-centric. Using it to register for an app or a website gives you the option of hiding your email address. Apple creates a burner email address for you, allowing you to sign in to your preferred site or app while you hide your email address. Should the app or the website email you, the email will be sent to the burner and will not get to your personal address.

Stop Location Snooping

There are thousands of apps known to collect user data, which is then sold to advertisers. iOS 13 has buttons that prevent location snooping. Before the introduction of this software, there was the option of always sharing your location data when the app was in use or not sharing it at all.

With the new software, you can now tap allow once when you open an app that needs your location. Tapping it gives the app permission to access your location just that time. It prevents the app from pulling more location data when it is not in use. It also stops unscrupulous apps from tracking the public WIFI networks you passed by.

Similarly, this app requires that all apps request for your permission before gaining access to your Bluetooth sensor. This is the chip you use to connect to accessories such as earphones wirelessly. This stops brands that deploy Bluetooth in their physical stores from trolling you when you enter their location.

Your camera also has a feature linked to location sharing. Each time you take a photo, metadata is recorded by default, indicating where the photo was captured. It also includes other crucial details such as who made the lens, the kind of lens, longitude, GPS latitude, speed, altitude, image direction, the OS version, among others.  Although this information is collected to organize your album, sharing the images on social media could expose sensitive data such as where you live.

This data would then end up in the hands of criminals, giving them the insight they need. iOS 13 strips all this data from your photos before they are shared. Go to the photo app, choose photos, and then tap on the icon. Under Options, select Location and switch it off. Whenever you share your photos, they will be posted without revealing your location.

Ban Robocallers

Robocallers make random calls, and this can be intrusive. iOS 13 allows you to block these calls and instead route them to your voicemail. The feature is turned on through settings app- menu-Silence Unknown Callers switch.

Each time an unknown number calls, it shows on your screen, but your phone does not ring. The caller is then prompted to leave a voice message. This app searches for numbers that may not have been saved in your emails, messages, and contact apps. When the app verifies unknown numbers as genuine, it ticks the number to inform you that the caller may not be a spammer.

Safari Anti-Tracking Enabled

This is a feature enabled by default and is used to prevent users from being tracked by accessed sites. Apple has included Safari browser to block websites from tracking its users. The software can prevent cross-site and covert tracking. Ad networks can no longer follow you across multiple sites. It allows you to control access to your location, camera, and microphone.

There are also changes in “contacts permission.” Apps that have, in the past, accessed your contact list cannot read the notes field. For instance, if you have saved your mum’s pin code, other apps cannot view that.

Many iPhone app services offer a perfect platform that maintains the security and privacy of its users. iOS 13 is the latest safety and privacy upgrade you need to try.