New Feature: Messages
This brings me to a new feature that VSCO is launching today: Messages. This brings a more social aspect to the platform that is meant to foster relationships and spark creative dialog between photographers. But it’s different than other platforms.
For starters, you can only message people who follow you. When a person follows you, it means they’re interested in your work, and is meant as a closer connection than messaging random people. To keep the platform safe, VSCO give you control over the experience. You can block and report people, leave conversations, and unfollow them.
But if you do want to maintain the conversation, you can share more than just texts. Photos, DSCOs, journals, and profiles of creators can be shared with messages. However, you can’t share photos directly from your studio or camera roll. This should hopefully work towards preventing more unsavory content from being shared.
VSCO X members will get access to messages first, and it will slowly roll out to all VSCO users over the coming weeks. So how can you get access quickly?
VSCO X Membership
After all of this talk about the benefits of VSCO X membership, here’s how to join.
- First, download VSCO from the App Store if you don’t already have it, which is free.
- Next, set up a VSCO account with an email and a password. In the app, tap the profile icon in the bottom right corner, then tap ‘Sign up to get started.’
- In the Studio portion of the app, you’ll see a blocky X icon on the left. This is where you can sign up for VSCO X.
Membership costs US$20 per year, and you get a 7-day trial to explore all of the benefits. You’ll be charged with your App Store payment method, and the payment is charged at the beginning of membership (after the free trial). You can manage your subscription in the App Store settings. For more information, you can visit VSCO’s FAQ page.