How to Take Control of Your Facebook Privacy Settings

| How-To

Timeline and Tagging

In this section, you can control who can post on your timeline, who can tag you, and whether you want to review posts people tag you in before they show up on your timeline.

Timeline: Recommended Settings

  • Who can post on your timeline: Friends
  • Who can see what others post on your timeline: Friends

Tagging: Recommended Settings

  • Who can see posts you’re tagged in on your timeline: Friends
  • When you’re tagged in a post, who do you want to add to the audience of the post if they can’t already see it: Friends or Only Me.
  • Who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded? No One. This means that if you don’t want Facebook’s algorithms to use facial recognition to suggest your face in photos, then select No One. If you’re comfortable with this, select Friends.

The Review section is a bit more personal. If you want to review posts and tags, then turn both of these settings on. This is useful if certain friends tag you in embarrassing posts or photos, and you don’t want these posts/photos to show up on your timeline.


Next, you can take a look at your profile to see what information you’re sharing. Again, this is a personal choice. If you’re like me and you want Facebook to know as little about you as possible, then remove everything in your About Me section. To find this, click on your profile, then click the About tab.

Or, if you want to keep your information on your profile, you can control who sees it. In the left menu, click on Contact Information and Basic Info. You can click on each entry and choose: Public, Friends, Only Me, Custom.

Screenshot of the activity log in Facebook privacy settings.

Also on your profile is the Activity Log. This is where you can delete your past posts, review/remove tags, hide things from your timeline, and delete photos, videos, likes, reactions, and comments. I’ll leave this up to you whether you want to dive into the log or not.

Unfortunately (but unsurprisingly) Facebook doesn’t let you remove stuff in bulk. That means if you want to delete comments, posts, photos, or videos, you have to painstakingly delete them one by one. Facebook doesn’t want you to ever leave.

Finally, you can see which third-party apps that you connected to your account. I wrote a guide where you can view and deauthorize these apps.

Add a Comment

Log in to comment (TMO, Twitter, Facebook) or Register for a TMO Account