Apple has posted a new OS X security update to its Web site. The new update causes the system to give new accounts created with Workgroup Manager a "disabled" password until the account has been saved for the first time, preventing unauthorized users from using the account. From Apple:
Security Update 2003-07-23 improves the security of your system by assigning a "disabled" password to a new account created by Workgroup Manager until that account has been saved for the first time. This ensures the new account cannot be accessed by an unauthorized individual.
The update requires OS X 10.2.6 Client or Server, and is available now from Appleis Web site. As of this writing, it is not yet available from Software Update.