MGG 261: Routers Righted, Acronyms Explained, Bootcamp Backed-up, and More!

Your two favorite geeks are back again this week, this time with a Premium show answering yet more of your questions and sharing a plethora of tips! Topics include AirPort forgetfulness, browsing history, key remapping, and many, many acronyms explained for your pleasure! Subscribe, download, and enjoy today!

MGG 261: Routers Righted, Acronyms Explained, Bootcamp Backed-up, and More!

May. 13, 2010 — Download: MP3 Version or AAC Version

Sign Up for the Newsletter

Join the TMO Express Daily Newsletter to get the latest Mac headlines in your e-mail every weekday.

Comments

tweat11

Dave you were so right on about your answer with Migration assistant. 
I found that the way you said to do it is really good, esp. if you do the migration later on.  Yes, No same home names, then migrate over then delete the other account.  Not bad for 4 hours of sleep.  Now you know never do an update or make any changes late at night, as I have been guilty of doing that too and staying up late to bring it back the way it was.  Love your podcasts Thanks guys.  Have a great week.  Perhaps the guy that had trouble getting his mac to connect to the network could try deleting the keychains and recreating it too.

tweat11

I have made the mistake of naming them the same too, but I just made a new account with different name on new machine then deleted the one with the same name then migrated it over.

tweat11

Speaking of web history I think Google will save your web history if your logged in, unless you turn it off.  Not sure if that is on by default but I think I had to turn mine off b4.  To turn it off go to settings, google account settings, under my product you will see web history, if you click on that you will see your history for searches, but you don’t wanna click on that under the heading of my products click the edit link next to that and then click Remove Web History permanently   Ya gotta be careful as the link right next to that will delete your gmail account for good.

tweat11

sorry actually if you click on the web history link you can pause it.  I think what I told you above will delete it for good so I think pausing is a good idea in case you wanna start it up again later.

Log-in to comment