Apple Sets Annual Shareholder Meeting for February 23

Apple will be hosting its annual shareholder meeting on Wednesday, February 23, at 10 AM pacific time. The company will be hosting the event for shareholders at its Cupertino offices and along with the usual meeting business will consider shareholder proposals, and answer shareholder questions.

The annual meeting includes a vote for the board of directors, and the nominee list should look familiar to anyone that follows the company’s current board. It includes William Campbell, Millard Drexler, Al Gore, Steve Jobs, Andrea Jung, Arthur Levinson and Ronald Sugar.

Shareholders will also vote on whether or not Ernst & Young should be the company’s independent accounting firm, and will get the chance to vote on shareholder proposals regarding succession planning and majority voting on director elections — both of which the current board is recommending shareholders vote against.

The meeting is open only to shareholders of record, which includes only people with shares registered in their name. Shares held in accounts through brokerage firms and other organizations don’t qualify for entrance into the meeting.