iPhoneography 101: Essential iPhone Camera Apps

10:30 AM, Nov. 22nd, 2014 · · Reviews

Shooting iPhone pix? iPhoneography 101 is a new column from Vern Seward offering up some of the lessons he's learned taking photos with his iPhone. In this installment, he shows us some of the essential iPhone camera apps and why you should use them.

iBank 5: Dr Mac Can Finally Say Goodbye to Quicken

3:30 PM, Nov. 19th, 2014 · · Reviews

iBank 5 = no more Quicken! YEA!

I love managing my finances on my Mac, but I have never liked depending upon Intuit or its Quicken for Mac products. Intuit, as you probably know, has no love for Mac users. Bob "Dr. Mac" LeVitus has been looking for a personal finance solution for the Mac since 1998, and he finally found it: iBank 5.

olloclip’s Lens Kit for iPhone 6: Familiar Optics, Mechanical Compromises

12:45 PM, Nov. 18th, 2014 · · Reviews

olloclip 4-in-1 Photo Lens kit for iPhone 6 family - review

olloclip's new 4-in-1 Photo Lens kit for the iPhone 6 uses a new design that fits over both the FaceTime (front) and iSight (rear) cameras at the same time. A small adjustment is required for the iPhone 6 Plus. The system includes wide-angle, fisheye, 10x and 15x macro lenses. Here's John Martellaro's review that includes a discussion of the mechanical challenges in this new design.

Monument Valley’s Forgotten Shores: Quick Fun (and Controversy)

8:45 AM, Nov. 14th, 2014 · · Reviews

Monument Valley, which may just be one of the finest iOS games ever released, has been updated with eight new levels. Hooray! In this article, Melissa Holt will tell you what she thinks of the new content (hint: we can hear her squealing happily all the way over here), and she'll also discuss the App Store fallout over the developers deciding to charge for the additional levels.

You May Not Need An iPad Air 2, But You’re Gonna Want One

12:12 PM, Nov. 5th, 2014 · · Reviews

You May Not Need An iPad Air 2 But You’re Gonna Want One…

Having spent some quality time with an iPad Air 2 lately I realize just how much I prefer it over my 4th generation iPad. Of course it’s thinner, lighter, and faster the first iPad Air, but it’s so much lighter, thinner, and faster than my 4th generation iPad that I’ll never be happy holding my 4th gen iPad again. As far as I’m concerned, it turned into fat, sluggish beast overnight.

iTunes 12 is Apple’s Worst Software Ever, Should Be Withdrawn

4:50 PM, Nov. 3rd, 2014 · · Reviews

For many people, music is an important part of their lives. It's so important that Apple's iTunes should be the finest example of what Apple developers can build. It should be up to Apple's standards as best-in-class software. Unfortunately, iTunes 12 has a subpar user interface, and it is judged to be the worst software Apple has ever produced. It should be withdrawn from the market.

The 3 Unexpected Consequences of Apple Pay Will be Huge

4:00 PM, Oct. 29th, 2014 · · Reviews

Apple Pay isn't just a new mobile payment method. It's also a stake in the heart of merchants who want to use your purchase activity for their own ends. It gives companies who want to honor the customer a high-profile bandwagon to jump on. Finally, it punctuates Apple's leadership. John Martellaro looks at the unexpected consequences of Apple Pay.

STM dux Case for iPad mini Features Drop Protection and Clear Back

2:15 PM, Oct. 29th, 2014 · · Reviews

STM dux case for iPad mini and mini with Retina display

The STM Dux case for iPad mini and mini with Retina display is the perfect option for those who want complete protection and coverage for their mini while letting the whole world know they have a tablet from Apple. Plus, it meets the U.S. Department of Defense Standard 810F/G for drop tests.