Reminder: Free Flickr Users Need to Take Action (Update)

1 minute read
| News

Starting today, January 8, free Flickr users with more than 1,000 photos need to take action. Unless you upgrade to a paid plan you can’t upload more content. And if you don’t upgrade this month Flickr will start deleting your content instead.

[Here’s How to Download Your Important Photos from Flickr]

Flickr Changes

The company made this announcement in November 2018. SmugMug bought Flickr from Yahoo and made changes in an attempt to make the platform more profitable. Under Yahoo, free Flickr users got a terabyte of storage. But SmugMug is capping user uploads at 1,000 photos or videos.

screenshots of flickr app

To upgrade to Flickr Pro, you can either select the monthly plan at US$5.99/month, or the annual plan at US$50 (US$4.17/month).

Update

I received additional information to clarify the changes happening to Flickr accounts. The company won’t start deleting content until February 5. And beginning on that same day free accounts with more than 1,000 photos will be eligible to have photos or videos deleted to get to the 1,000 free limit.

Content will be deleted starting with the oldest photos/videos, though images licensed through Creative Commons before November 1, 2018 will not be deleted. Users may also download their images if they’d rather move assets over the 1,000 limit to other storage options.

Finally, according to The Phoblographer Flickr is offering a 15% discount off the first year of your Pro account. Use the offer code FLICKRPRO15. Offer ends January 15.

[Flickr Plans to Cancel the 1TB Storage for Free Tier]

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  Subscribe  
Notify of