Siri AI Is Apple’s New Name, but Half Its Feature List Still Just Says Siri

Apple iPhone Duo Siri AI
Image: Apple

Apple’s own pages for iOS 27, AirPods 5 and Apple Watch Series 12 use two different names for Siri-related features. ‘Siri AI’ is the label for the new conversational assistant. Plain ‘Siri’ is still the label on several feature names Apple ships in the same release, on the same pages.

Apple iPhone Duo write with Siri
Write with Siri AI on iPhone Duo, one of the features that carries the new name. Image: Apple

The two names do not commit to the same things. Siri AI carries a beta label, an English-first rollout and daily usage limits, stated explicitly wherever Apple uses that exact name. The plain-Siri feature names do not carry those same statements anywhere Apple has published.

Where Apple uses the name Siri AI

Apple’s exact statementSource
‘Siri AI is available in beta in iOS 27, iPadOS 27, macOS 27, watchOS 27, and visionOS 27.’Apple’s Siri page
‘Siri AI is rolling out in English.’Apple’s Apple Intelligence page
Certain Apple Intelligence features, ‘including but not limited to Siri AI,’ are subject to daily usage limitsApple’s iPhone 18 Pro press release footnote
‘Siri AI is not available to users under 13.’same footnote

Every one of those statements names the assistant specifically as Siri AI, not as Siri. That naming choice is consistent across the iPhone, iPad, Mac, Watch and headset pages for this release, and it excludes tvOS, which is not on Apple’s beta list at all.

Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer

Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.

Or get it by email
Apple Watch Series 12 Live Rewind
Siri Recap on Apple Watch Series 12, a named feature that does not carry the words Siri AI. Image: Apple

Where the same pages still just say Siri

Apple’s own Apple Watch Series 12 feature list includes, in order: ‘Cycle Tracking with wrist temperature; Siri Modular watch face; Siri AI; Audio Intelligence (Live Rewind, Siri Recap, Sound Recognition).’ Siri AI sits between two other named features that use the word Siri alone: the Siri Modular watch face, and Siri Recap, part of Audio Intelligence.

AirPods 5’s own specs page does the same thing. Its software feature list names Siri AI (‘hands-free access to an even more powerful and personalized AI assistant’) and, separately, Siri Interactions, the nod-yes or shake-no head gesture. iOS 27’s camera page names a ‘new Siri mode in Camera’ for visual search, not a Siri AI mode. iOS 27’s own dedicated assistant app is named ‘Siri app,’ not ‘Siri AI app,’ even though its stated purpose is bringing together ‘all your conversations with Siri AI.’

  • Siri Modular watch face (Apple Watch Series 12)
  • Siri Recap (Audio Intelligence, Apple Watch Series 12 and Ultra 4)
  • Siri Interactions, nod yes or shake no (AirPods 5)
  • Siri mode in Camera (iOS 27)
  • Siri app (iOS 27, syncs conversations across devices)
  • Siri in CarPlay (‘keeps you informed without taking your hands off the wheel’)
Apple AirPods 5 hero
AirPods 5 lists both Siri AI and Siri Interactions as separate items on the same specs page. Image: Apple

What each label does and does not commit to

Apple’s beta statement, English-first rollout and usage limits are all written against the name Siri AI specifically. Apple’s pages do not state whether Siri Modular, Siri Recap, Siri Interactions, Siri mode in Camera, the Siri app or Siri in CarPlay depend on Siri AI underneath, run independently of it, or fall under a different set of limits. The wording answers which name Apple uses where. It does not answer how the features relate to each other.

Statement typeAttached to the name Siri AIAttached to the name Siri alone
Beta statusYes, statedNot stated either way
English-first rollout, October language additionsYes, statedNot stated either way
Daily usage limitsYes, named explicitlyNot stated either way
Under-13 age gateYes, statedNot stated either way
Apple iPhone 18 Pro Photos app Apple Reference Image
iOS 27's Siri app, named Siri rather than Siri AI, syncs conversations across devices. Image: Apple

Why the split is checkable, not a guess

None of this rests on a leak or a rumor. Every phrase above comes from Apple’s own iOS 27, Apple Watch Series 12 and AirPods 5 pages, published alongside the September 9 event. The iOS 27 release date and Siri AI beta feature list uses the exact ‘Siri AI’ phrase throughout its own Siri section, and switches to plain ‘Siri’ the moment it describes the dedicated app or the CarPlay experience, matching what Apple’s own page does.

What Apple has not said

Apple has not published a definition distinguishing Siri AI from Siri as a brand matter, and it has not said whether every plain-Siri feature name requires an Apple Intelligence-enabled device the way Siri AI itself does. Readers checking eligibility should treat the two names as separate statements until Apple links them explicitly.

Siri AI’s beta begins with iOS 27, iPadOS 27, macOS 27, watchOS 27 and visionOS 27 on September 14, with French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish following in October. See our AirPods 5 announcement coverage and Apple Watch Series 12 details for the feature lists in full.