Apple’s water figures, like its renewable-energy claims, split into layers rather than one number. A combined total covers Apple and its suppliers together. A narrower figure covers a specific certified subset of Apple’s own data centers. And a single figure covers one manufacturing process for one product. Apple’s April 2026 environmental progress report states all three, and they are not interchangeable.

Key facts
| Figure | What Apple publishes |
|---|---|
| Fresh water saved, Apple and suppliers combined | 17 billion gallons |
| Apple’s own comparison | “25,000 Olympic-size swimming pools” |
| Water replenished, 2025 | 800 million gallons |
| Water replenishment goal | Set for 2030 |
| Apple-owned data centers, Alliance for Water Stewardship certified | 8 |
| MacBook Neo anodization water-reuse rate | 70% |

The 17 billion gallon figure is a combined total
Apple states that it and its suppliers together saved 17 billion gallons of fresh water, a figure the company compares to 25,000 Olympic-size swimming pools. Because the figure combines Apple’s own facilities with its supplier network, Apple has not published how much of the 17 billion gallons is attributable to Apple’s own operations alone versus its manufacturing partners, and it has not stated the figure as a rate or percentage against total water use, only as a cumulative saving.
Eight data centers carry a specific certification
Separate from the combined total, Apple states that eight of its own data centers are certified by the Alliance for Water Stewardship, a named third-party credential distinct from the TRUE Zero Waste Certification Apple holds at some of the same kinds of sites. Apple has not published how many data centers it operates in total, so there is no way to work out from the material reviewed here what share of Apple’s data center footprint that figure of eight represents. It has not said whether any corporate campuses or retail stores carry the same water-stewardship certification. That leaves the Alliance for Water Stewardship credential looking narrower in scope than TRUE Zero Waste Certification, which Apple states across data centers, campuses and one store together, though Apple has not confirmed that reading directly.
Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer
Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.
Replenishment is a separate goal, with its own year
Apple states it replenished 800 million gallons of water in 2025, and describes a water-replenishment goal it has set for 2030. That 800 million gallon figure is presented as the 2025 contribution toward the goal, not as the goal’s total target. Apple has not published a numeric target for the 2030 replenishment goal itself, so a reader can see the latest year’s contribution without being able to say how close Apple is to finishing.
One product gets a named water figure
MacBook Neo’s anodization process reuses 70 percent of its water, the only process-level water figure Apple names by product in this report. It describes one manufacturing step for one device, not a site-level or company-wide total, and it should not be read against the 17 billion gallon figure or the eight-data-center certification above as though all three measure the same thing. None of this year’s other products, including iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone Duo, Apple Watch Series 12 or Apple Watch Ultra 4, carries a comparable water-reuse figure in the material reviewed here.
| Scope | Figure Apple publishes |
|---|---|
| Combined, Apple and suppliers | 17 billion gallons of fresh water saved |
| Apple’s own certified subset | 8 data centers, Alliance for Water Stewardship |
| Company replenishment programme | 800 million gallons in 2025, goal set for 2030 |
| Single product process | MacBook Neo anodization, 70% water reuse |
What Apple has not said
Apple has not published a breakdown of the 17 billion gallon figure between its own operations and its suppliers, has not stated a numeric target for the 2030 water-replenishment goal, and has not said how many total facilities it operates that could be measured against the eight-data-center certification count. As of September 12, 2026, no update to these figures has appeared since the April 16, 2026 report, and Apple’s environmental progress reports have historically arrived on a roughly annual, April cadence.