iPhone 18 Pro Battery Life: Apple’s 45-Hour Claim Explained, Plus How Fast It Really Charges

Apple iPhone 18 Pro 2up
Image: Apple

Apple rates the iPhone 18 Pro Max at up to 45 hours of video playback and the iPhone 18 Pro at up to 36 hours. Both figures apply to the eSIM-only models, and Apple says a wired charger takes either phone to 50 percent in about 15 minutes.

According to Apple’s press release, the smaller iPhone 18 Pro now roughly matches last year’s iPhone 17 Pro Max on battery life. The gains come alongside the A20 Pro chip and a C2 modem that uses 15 percent less energy than the C1X, and the full spec sheet is in our iPhone 18 Pro announcement roundup.

What Apple’s 45-hour battery claim means

The 45-hour number is a video playback rating, which is the most favorable test Apple publishes. In the same release, Apple describes the iPhone 18 Pro Max as offering up to 30 hours of use on a full charge, which is a better guide to a day of mixed use.

Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer

Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.

Or get it by email
ModelVideo playback (eSIM-only)Apple’s use estimate
iPhone 18 ProUp to 36 hoursNot stated
iPhone 18 Pro MaxUp to 45 hoursUp to 30 hours on a full charge

Apple ties both ratings to the eSIM-only models, which ship in the US, Canada, Japan, Mexico and eight other markets. Apple has not published separate figures for versions with a SIM tray.

iPhone 18 Pro charging speeds

Charging gets the same attention as capacity. Here is what Apple’s press release commits to.

  • Wired: 50 percent in about 15 minutes
  • Wireless: 50 percent in 30 minutes
  • Quick top-up: five minutes on a cable gives the iPhone 18 Pro Max about seven hours of video playback

Apple has not stated the charger wattage needed to hit those times, or whether the charging figures differ on the smaller iPhone 18 Pro beyond the 50 percent marks.

Why the battery lasts longer this year

Apple’s press release does not give a battery capacity in milliampere-hours, so the improvement is best explained by the components around it. The A20 Pro is Apple’s first 2-nanometer chip, and its next-generation vapor chamber is attached directly to the chip with about three times the cooling performance of the prior design.

The C2 modem uses 15 percent less energy than the C1X, and the battery itself uses 100 percent recycled cobalt. Battery is one of the four areas Greg Joswiak singled out in Apple’s announcement, alongside camera, performance and intelligence, at what was John Ternus’s first keynote as CEO.

Pre-orders open Saturday, September 12 at 5 a.m. PT, with the phones shipping Friday, September 18. We will have real-world battery results once review units are in hand, and you can find the day’s other announcements in our Apple event live blog.