iPhone 18 Pro Features You Get on an Older iPhone With iOS 27, and the Ones You Do Not

Apple iPhone 18 Pro Photos app Apple Reference Image
Image: Apple

iOS 27 arrives Monday, September 14 as a free update, four days before the iPhone 18 Pro reaches stores from $1,199. Several of the features Apple showed alongside the new phones are software, which means an older iPhone gets them without a $1,199 purchase.

Others depend on the A20 Pro, the new camera hardware or the redesigned Dynamic Island, and no update will bring those to an iPhone 17 Pro or earlier. Here is how the announcement splits, with one caveat: Apple has not published the iOS 27 compatibility list, so which older models qualify is still open.

What iOS 27 brings to an older iPhone on September 14

  • Siri AI, Apple’s new Siri, in beta in English, with French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish following in October
  • Image Playground with photorealistic images
  • Safari Notify Me
  • iPhone Handoff, which Apple says is carrier-dependent

Apple Intelligence runs on-device and with Private Cloud Compute, and Apple has tied Siri AI to Apple Intelligence iPhones in its AirPods 5 release. That suggests the Siri beta needs an Apple Intelligence-capable model rather than any phone that installs iOS 27, though Apple has not spelled out the list. Our Apple event live blog has the software segment as it happened.

Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer

Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.

Or get it by email

What stays exclusive to iPhone 18 Pro hardware

  • The variable aperture main camera, f/1.48 to f/4 with six laser-cut blades, and the manual aperture controls that go with it
  • The A20 Pro, Apple’s first 2-nanometer chip, with a GPU up to 40 percent faster than A19 Pro and a 32-core Neural Engine
  • The N1 wireless chip with Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6 and Thread, and the C2 modem
  • The 2TB storage tier
  • The smaller Dynamic Island showing up to three Live Activities at once
  • Up to 36 hours of video playback on the Pro and 45 hours on the Pro Max, and 50 percent charging in about 15 minutes wired
  • The next-generation vapor chamber with about three times the cooling performance

Everything on that list is bound to silicon, optics or the physical display, so it is a hardware purchase or nothing. The iPhone 18 Pro announcement has the full specification for each item.

The features in between

FeatureOlder iPhone with iOS 27iPhone 18 Pro
Siri AI betaApple Intelligence iPhones, list not publishedYes
Image Playground, Safari Notify Me, HandoffYes, per Apple’s releaseYes
Apple Reference ImageListed under iOS 27, device support not statedYes
Smart Focus, faster Night mode, texture and grain stylesNot stated by AppleYes
Manual aperture controlNo, needs the new lensYes
Three Live Activities in the Dynamic IslandNot stated by AppleYes

Apple Reference Image is the interesting case. Apple lists it both as an iOS 27 feature and as an iPhone 18 Pro feature, and has not said whether older cameras can produce the verified originals. The same ambiguity applies to Smart Focus, faster Night mode and the new Photographic Styles controls, which Apple describes only in the iPhone 18 Pro context.

The practical takeaway is that the software half of the announcement arrives on September 14 for whichever phones Apple lists, and the camera, chip and battery half requires the new hardware from September 18. If you are on the fence, our guide to iPhone 18 Pro pre-order timing covers the dates, and Apple’s compatibility list should settle the rest before the update ships.