OS X Lion: New Keyboard Shortcut for “Don’t Save”


When you hit Command-W to close an unsaved document’s window (or click on the red “stoplight” button at the upper-left of the window), you’ll of course be asked if you’d like to save.

In Snow Leopard, you could choose “Don’t Save” from the keyboard by hitting Command-D. For Lion, the shortcut is now Command-Delete. You’re done. You don’t have to learn a darn thing more. Whew.

Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer

Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.

Or get it by email



Remember, though, that programs compatible with Auto Save in Lion will only show the dialog box above if you haven’t already saved your document. If the file you’re working on has been saved somewhere, you can close its window any time you’d like without having to deal with any nonsense. 

Discussion

Join the discussionCommenting as a guest — your email is never published · Log in

Protected by Akismet — be kind, stay on topic.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.