AT&T is making it more expensive to cancel your DirecTV or internet service by ending prorated bills. The carrier will start charging customers for the full month after they cancel.
Even if you cancel on the first day of the new billing period, you’ll still be charged for the full month. Service will continue for the rest of the month. To avoid this you’ll have to cancel your service by the last day a billing period instead.
The change takes effect on January 14, 2019. It will include customers paying on a month-to-month basis and not under contract. However, the new policy won’t affect customers who live in California, Illinois, or New York, as well as “U-verse TV, AT&T Phone, or AT&T Internet accounts in Michigan.”