Every iCloud+ tier, from the $0.99 50GB plan up to the $59.99 12TB plan, includes family sharing for up to five other members, according to Apple’s own support page. That is the only family-sharing headcount Apple publishes across its current storage and subscription pricing.
It is also a figure that does not move. A subscriber on the cheapest tier gets the same five-other-members allowance as a subscriber on the most expensive one, at least as far as the page Apple publishes states it.
What Apple’s page actually says
| Key facts | Detail |
|---|---|
| Family sharing allowance | Up to five other members |
| Applies to | All five iCloud+ tiers, $0.99 to $59.99 |
| Also included at every tier | Private Relay, Hide My Email, Custom Email Domain |
| Source | support.apple.com/en-us/108047 |
Apple lists family sharing alongside three other features, Private Relay, Hide My Email and a Custom Email Domain, as part of what every iCloud+ tier includes regardless of price. The storage total and the HomeKit Secure Video camera limit are the only two things that change between tiers on that page.
Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer
Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.
Six people, one storage pool
Read literally, an iCloud+ subscriber plus up to five other members means as many as six people can draw on a single plan’s storage. Apple’s page does not state whether those five other members each get an individual guaranteed slice of the total, or whether the pool is shared without a per-person cap, so any specific per-person figure beyond that headcount is arithmetic a reader would have to do themselves, not a number Apple provides.
Apple also does not state, on the page reviewed for this article, whether shared members each receive their own Hide My Email allowance and Custom Email Domain access, or whether those two features remain tied to the subscriber who owns the plan. That distinction matters more than the storage total for anyone weighing whether to add a family member to their existing plan rather than have that person buy a separate one.
The cheapest tier is shareable too
Nothing on Apple’s page restricts family sharing to the larger, more expensive tiers. The 50GB plan at $0.99 a month carries the same up-to-five-other-members allowance as the 12TB plan at $59.99. Whether 50GB shared across six people is enough for any given household is not something Apple’s pricing page addresses, since it publishes a headcount limit but not a usage guideline.
The one thing that actually does change by tier
| Tier | Price | Family sharing | HomeKit Secure Video cameras |
|---|---|---|---|
| 50GB | $0.99/month | Up to five other members | One camera |
| 200GB | $2.99/month | Up to five other members | Up to five cameras |
| 2TB | $9.99/month | Up to five other members | Unlimited |
| 6TB | $29.99/month | Up to five other members | Unlimited |
| 12TB | $59.99/month | Up to five other members | Unlimited |
Apple’s page pairs the five-other-members figure with a second number that does move: the count of HomeKit Secure Video cameras a plan supports. The 50GB plan, shareable with the same five other members as every pricier tier, still supports only one HomeKit camera in total across however many people draw on that plan. A household of six sharing the cheapest tier gets the full family-sharing headcount but only a single camera slot between all of them, while the same six people on the 200GB plan get up to five. Apple’s page does not say whether that one camera has to belong to the plan owner specifically, or whether any shared member can register it.
Apple One’s family plan does not carry the same published number
| Plan | Published member limit |
|---|---|
| iCloud+, any tier | Up to five other members |
| Apple One Family ($27.95/month) | Not stated |
Apple One’s Family tier costs $6 more a month than its Individual tier and is priced separately from standalone iCloud+. Apple’s own Apple One pricing page names the tier as Family without stating how many members it actually supports, which leaves iCloud+’s five-other-members figure as the only concrete family-sharing headcount Apple has published in either product line.
What Apple has not said
- How many members Apple One’s Family tier supports, as distinct from iCloud+’s stated five-other-members limit.
- Whether shared family members each get an individual storage allocation or draw from one unguaranteed pool.
- Whether Hide My Email and a Custom Email Domain extend to shared members or stay tied to the plan owner.
- Whether the single HomeKit Secure Video camera slot on the 50GB tier must belong to the plan owner or can belong to any shared member.
Today is Saturday, September 12, 2026. Anyone weighing whether to add a family member to an existing iCloud+ plan, ahead of iOS 27 arriving Monday, September 14, can confirm the current five-other-members limit directly under Settings, Family Sharing, on their own device.