iPhone 18 Pro’s Two Active eSIMs Make the Checkout Carrier Choice Less Final Than It Looks

Apple iPhone 18 Pro 2up
Image: Apple

iPhone 18 Pro can run two active eSIMs at once and store eight or more, which means the carrier picked at Apple’s checkout is not necessarily the only one the phone will ever carry. The connectivity choice that sets the $100 price gap covers the first line. A second line, on a different carrier, is a separate decision made later, after the phone already exists.

Apple iPhone 18 Pro color lineup
Two active eSIMs can run on the same iPhone 18 Pro regardless of the carrier chosen at checkout. Image: Apple

That distinction gets lost inside the bigger question of whether to buy iPhone 18 Pro unlocked or connected, because dual eSIM does not undo the price at checkout. It does change how final that choice actually is.

Key facts on dual eSIM

QuestionWhat Apple publishes
Active eSIMs at onceTwo
eSIMs stored on the phoneEight or more
Requirement per eSIMA carrier that supports eSIM, plus a wireless service plan; see carrier for details
Does the checkout carrier choice cover both linesNot stated; it applies to the price, not to a second eSIM added later
Apple iPhone Duo colors
iPhone Duo goes further still, running eSIM-only with no physical SIM slot in any market. Image: Apple

What two active lines are for

Apple’s specs page states the capability plainly: dual eSIM, two active, storing eight or more. Footnote 10 adds the only condition Apple names, that using an eSIM requires a carrier that supports eSIM and a wireless service plan, directing buyers to check with the carrier for anything more specific. Apple does not publish a use-case list beyond that, so a work line and a personal line, or a home carrier and a travel carrier, are reader inferences from the two-active number, not something Apple describes directly.

Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer

Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.

Or get it by email

The eight-or-more figure is a storage limit, not a usage limit. A phone can hold that many eSIM profiles while only two are active for calls and data at any one time, which is the same distinction Apple draws between storing a card and using it. Apple has not published how switching between stored eSIMs works in practice on iOS 27, beyond naming the two-active ceiling.

Apple iPhone 18 Pro A20 Pro chip
The modem and wireless hardware behind dual eSIM ship the same way across every finish. Image: Apple

Why the checkout choice is not the last one

The $100 gap between a connected and unlocked iPhone 18 Pro is set once, at the moment of purchase, and it decides the price. It does not decide how many carriers the phone will ever connect to. Because the hardware supports two active eSIMs regardless of which option was chosen at checkout, a buyer who took the cheaper $1,199 connected price can still add a second eSIM from an entirely different carrier afterward, and a buyer who paid $1,299 unlocked can add a first carrier the same way. What Apple has not published is whether the original connectivity selection itself, as opposed to a second line, can be changed after checkout without a new purchase.

Where this matters most

  • The 12 eSIM-only markets, where there is no physical tray to fall back on and every line depends on eSIM support
  • Anyone splitting a work and personal number without carrying two phones
  • Travelers adding a local carrier’s eSIM alongside a home line, though Apple publishes no roaming-specific guidance for iPhone 18 Pro

The iPhone Duo takes the same idea further: it is eSIM-only in every market Apple sells it, with no physical SIM slot anywhere, and Apple’s own materials describe support across more than 500 carriers globally rather than naming a US-specific set. The iPhone Duo overview and our look at its cameras cover what else changed on that device, though Apple has not extended its up-to-$1,200 US carrier language to the Duo at all.

What has not been confirmed

Apple has not published whether adding a second eSIM affects a carrier credit tied to the first line, has not stated whether the original checkout connectivity choice can be reversed without buying a new phone, and has not named which carriers in each launch market actually support eSIM activation for a second line. None of the three named US carriers has published its own eSIM onboarding steps for iPhone 18 Pro specifically.

Testing a second eSIM after the phone ships on Friday, September 18, is the only way to see whether Apple’s footnote-level guidance holds up against an actual carrier’s activation flow, since nothing published so far describes that moment in detail.