Studio Display and Studio Display XDR: What Apple Has Published, Six Months In

Apple Unveils New Mac Studio With M5 Max and M5 Ultra, Up to 512GB RAM

Apple sells two standalone displays: Studio Display at $1,599 and Studio Display XDR at $3,299. Both launched in March 2026, both remain on sale unchanged today, and neither has received the coverage the desktops that depend on them have, so here is everything Apple has actually published about each, arriving the same year as iPhone 18 Pro.

Apple Launches New Mac mini With M6 and M5 Pro, Starting at $899
The Mac mini with M6, one of the Macs that ships with no screen of its own. Image: Apple

Apple announced both displays together on March 4, 2026, a Wednesday, with availability following on March 11, 2026, also a Wednesday. As of today, September 12, that is 185 days, or about 26 weeks, with no update, no price change and no new configuration announced for either model, a much quieter stretch than the run-up to Apple’s September 9 keynote.

Key facts

SpecStudio DisplayStudio Display XDR
Price (US)$1,599 ($1,499 education)$3,299 ($3,199 education)
AnnouncedMarch 4, 2026March 4, 2026
Available sinceMarch 11, 2026March 11, 2026
Panel size27-inch, 5K Retina27-inch, 5120-by-2880 5K Retina XDR
BacklightNot specified as mini-LEDMini-LED, 2,304 local dimming zones
Brightness600 nitsUp to 1000 nits SDR, 2000 nits peak HDR
Refresh rateApple has not published a figure here120Hz, Adaptive Sync 47Hz to 120Hz
Ports2x Thunderbolt 5, 2x USB-C, up to 96W charging2x Thunderbolt 5, 2x USB-C, up to 140W charging, Thunderbolt hub
Macbook
A MacBook, shown here for contrast: unlike the Mac mini or Mac Studio, it comes with a display built in. Image: Apple

Studio Display: what Apple actually specifies

Apple describes the standard Studio Display as a 27-inch 5K Retina panel with P3 wide colour and, in Apple’s own phrase, “over 14 million pixels.” It publishes a brightness figure of 600 nits and a charging figure of up to 96W over its two Thunderbolt 5 and two USB-C ports, enough to fast-charge a 14-inch MacBook Pro. Apple also says up to four of these displays can be daisy-chained together for what it describes as nearly 60 million combined pixels. What Apple has not published for this model, at least in the material gathered here, is an exact pixel-dimension figure to match the “5K” label, a peak HDR brightness, or a refresh rate.

Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer

Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.

Or get it by email
Apple logo
Apple's logo, used here because Apple has not supplied fresh Studio Display photography in this batch. Image: Apple

Studio Display XDR: the all-new model

Studio Display XDR is the display Apple calls all-new rather than updated, and its spec sheet is far more detailed. Apple publishes an exact panel resolution of 5120-by-2880, a mini-LED backlight with 2,304 local dimming zones, up to 1000 nits of full-screen SDR brightness, 2000 nits of peak HDR brightness, a stated contrast ratio of 1,000,000 to 1, and support for both P3 and Adobe RGB colour. It runs at 120Hz with Adaptive Sync between 47Hz and 120Hz. Ports match the standard model’s Thunderbolt 5 and USB-C count, but charging rises to 140W, enough for a 16-inch MacBook Pro, and Apple describes the XDR as acting as a Thunderbolt hub in its own right.

What both models share

Both displays ship with a 12-megapixel Center Stage camera with Desk View, a three-microphone array Apple describes as studio-quality with directional beamforming, and a six-speaker system with Spatial Audio. Both are offered in standard or nano-texture glass. The standard Studio Display includes a tilt-adjustable stand, with a tilt-and-height stand or VESA adapter available as options. Studio Display XDR includes a tilt-and-height-adjustable stand with a 105mm height range as standard, with a VESA adapter as the optional route.

Why this matters now, not just in March

Both displays exist to sit on top of Macs that need one. Mac mini and Mac Studio, part of the same wave of 2026 hardware that also brought Apple’s newest chips to iPhone, reach general sale Tuesday, September 22, ten days from today, and neither includes a screen. Apple’s own Mac Studio material states that a Mac Studio with M5 Max can drive up to four Studio Display XDR units at 5K resolution and 120Hz, which is the clearest hint of how Apple expects the two product lines to be bought together.

What Apple has not said

Apple has not published pricing for either display outside the US and education stores beyond a couple of international examples (Studio Display XDR at CAD $4,499 and S$4,499 in Singapore), has not stated whether the Medical Imaging Calibrator built into Studio Display XDR has since cleared FDA review, and has not given a refresh rate, peak brightness or exact pixel count for the standard Studio Display. It has also not said anything about a future update to either model, so any figure beyond what is written here should be treated as unconfirmed. It has likewise said nothing about how either display interacts with macOS 27, arriving Monday, September 14.

As of September 12, both displays are six months into their run with no changes announced, and the more immediate date to watch is September 22, when the two Macs most likely to be paired with them go on general sale.