The iPhone 18 Pro supports dual eSIM, which Apple’s tech specs define as two eSIMs active at the same time with eight or more stored on the phone. In 12 countries, including the United States, Canada and Japan, there is no SIM tray at all, so eSIM is the only way to add a line.
Dual eSIM is a different question from eSIM-only. The first is about how many lines the phone can hold and run; the second is about whether a physical card is accepted anywhere. This article covers the first, using Apple’s tech specs and press release for the iPhone 18 Pro, and points out where Apple has not described how the phone behaves.
Key facts from Apple’s tech specs
| Item | iPhone 18 Pro and 18 Pro Max |
|---|---|
| SIM support | Dual eSIM |
| Active at once | Two |
| Stored on the phone | Eight or more |
| SIM tray | None in 12 countries and regions; present elsewhere |
| Modem | Apple C2, 15 percent less energy than C1X, mmWave 5G in the US |
| Wireless chip | Apple N1 (Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread) |
| NFC | With reader mode |
Two active, eight or more stored: what the numbers mean
Two active eSIMs means the phone can hold two phone numbers live at once, for example a personal line and a work line, or a home carrier plan alongside a local data plan bought for a trip. Both lines can be on the phone simultaneously rather than one replacing the other.
Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer
Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.
The eight-or-more figure is about storage, not simultaneous use. Profiles beyond the two active ones sit on the phone until you need them, so a traveler can keep plans from several countries installed and bring one of them live on landing. Apple’s tech specs phrase the limit as eight or more, and do not give an exact ceiling.
Apple’s C2 modem sits behind all of this. Apple’s press release says it uses 15 percent less energy than the C1X, and that mmWave 5G is included in the US. The N1 chip handles Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6 and Thread, so the modem’s job is cellular only. Our iPhone 18 Pro battery article covers how those parts feed into Apple’s 24-hour typical-use rating.
Where the SIM tray is gone
Apple’s press release lists 12 countries and regions where the iPhone 18 Pro and 18 Pro Max ship without a SIM tray. Everywhere else the phone keeps a tray, but Apple’s tech specs still list dual eSIM as a feature of the phone.
| eSIM-only, no SIM tray | |
|---|---|
| Bahrain | Oman |
| Canada | Qatar |
| Guam | Saudi Arabia |
| Japan | United Arab Emirates |
| Kuwait | United States |
| Mexico | U.S. Virgin Islands |
The list has grown since the US-only eSIM switch of earlier generations, and it now covers most of the Gulf. For a traveler that means a phone bought in any of these places cannot take a local prepaid card; the local plan has to be an eSIM. Apple has not published how many lines a tray model can combine between a physical SIM and eSIMs, so the two-active figure is the only number we can confirm for either version.
How iPhone 18 Pro compares with iPhone Duo and Apple Watch Series 12
| Device | SIM | Active lines | Stored | Physical SIM |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone 18 Pro / Pro Max | Dual eSIM | Two | Eight or more | Tray outside the 12 eSIM-only markets |
| iPhone Duo | Dual eSIM | Two | Eight or more | None anywhere; Apple says not compatible with physical SIM cards |
| Apple Watch Series 12 (cellular) | Cellular models A3582, A3587 | Not stated | Not stated | None; supports RedCap for 5G and LTE, international roaming |
The iPhone Duo goes further than the Pro. Apple’s Duo tech specs describe it as not compatible with physical SIM cards, and Apple’s marketing page calls it eSIM only worldwide, with the same two-active, eight-or-more figures. The Pro phones remain the choice for anyone who needs a tray, as long as they are bought outside the 12 listed markets.
Who benefits from dual eSIM
- Two-number users: one phone for personal and work lines, both reachable at once.
- Frequent travelers: a home line kept active for calls and texts while a local eSIM carries data.
- Carrier switchers: a second carrier’s plan can be added and tested without removing the first.
- Families managing several plans: spare profiles stay stored until needed.
What Apple has not said
- The exact maximum number of stored eSIMs; the tech specs say eight or more.
- How a physical SIM combines with eSIMs on tray models, and whether that changes the two-active limit.
- Step-by-step instructions for switching the active line on iPhone 18 Pro; Apple’s product pages describe the capability, not the settings flow.
- Which carriers support eSIM activation in each of the 65 launch countries, and whether iOS 27’s carrier-dependent iPhone Handoff feature relates to eSIM setup.
Pre-orders open Saturday, September 12 at 5 a.m. PT, with availability on Friday, September 18 in more than 65 countries and 20 more on September 25. The iPhone 18 Pro starts at $1,199 and the Pro Max at $1,299 for 256GB, according to Apple’s Store page; see our iPhone 18 Pro price breakdown for the monthly option. Setup details will be clearer once iOS 27 ships on September 14 and the phones arrive four days later.