Apple’s new Siri, which the company calls Siri AI, launches in beta with iOS 27 on Monday, September 14, in English only. Five more languages follow in October: French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish, according to Apple’s press release.
The staggered rollout is the clearest signal yet of how Apple is pacing the assistant. It arrives as part of a free iOS 27 update rather than a separate download, but it carries a beta label and a hardware floor: Siri AI is an Apple Intelligence feature, and Apple Intelligence runs on-device and with Private Cloud Compute, so it needs an iPhone that supports Apple Intelligence.
Siri AI beta languages and dates
Here is Apple’s stated schedule. Apple has not given a specific October date for the second wave, and it has not announced languages beyond these six.
Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer
Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.
| Language | Availability |
|---|---|
| English | September 14, with iOS 27 |
| French | October |
| Japanese | October |
| Korean | October |
| Portuguese | October |
| Spanish | October |
Apple has not said which regional variants of each language are included, whether the beta is limited to certain countries, or when Siri AI leaves beta. Those details are absent from the launch release.
Which iPhones get Siri AI first
Siri AI requires an iPhone that supports Apple Intelligence. Apple’s release does not list eligible models, so check whether your iPhone already offers Apple Intelligence features: if it does, it is in scope for the beta once iOS 27 installs on September 14.
The iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max are the newest eligible phones, with the A20 Pro chip’s dual 16-core Neural Engine offering double the AI processing of the A19 Pro. They ship on Friday, September 18, four days after iOS 27, so the beta will be waiting on them out of the box.
Apple has not said whether Siri AI performs differently on older Apple Intelligence iPhones than on the iPhone 18 Pro, and it has not said whether any features are exclusive to the new chip.
Siri AI on AirPods 5 and elsewhere
The beta extends beyond the iPhone screen. AirPods 5, which reach stores on September 18, support hands-free Siri AI, and Apple’s release attaches the same two conditions: iOS 27 and an Apple Intelligence iPhone. Pre-event coverage in our AirPods 5 rumor round-up had anticipated a closer tie between the earbuds and the new Siri.
Apple’s release does not mention Siri AI on iPad, Mac or Apple Watch, and it does not say whether the beta will reach those platforms in the same window. The rest of iOS 27 is not gated the same way.
- Siri AI: beta, English at launch, five more languages in October, Apple Intelligence iPhone required
- Image Playground with photorealistic images, Safari Notify Me and iPhone Handoff (carrier-dependent): part of iOS 27, requirements not specified in the release
- Apple Reference Image: part of iOS 27 and highlighted with the iPhone 18 Pro camera
iOS 27 arrives on September 14 as a free update. Apple has not stated a release time, and it has not said whether the Siri AI beta requires opting in separately once the update is installed. Our event live blog has the full list of what Apple announced today.